Netflix’d: A Review

If it’s not 50 degrees or warmer outside, my ass is staying inside unless there’s absolutely no way around it. Indoor activities are far more limited once you’ve reached a certain age, so my options were scarce during our most recent Ice Storm. Being a woman of my generation, I popped in a Hot Pocket, wore the same sweatpants for four days straight and dived into the world that is Netflix.

Now, Netflix binging isn’t just for snow storms or post breakup therapy. It’s a common tool used amongst young adults to pass the time that would normally be spent doing whatever old people think my generation does…sex? drugs? Whatever, we do all of it AND we watch unlimited television!

~*~anyways~*~

Netflix has honestly broadened my horizons in regards to what I choose to subject myself to visually.

With options being nearly endless, it’s easy to stray from your typical choices.

For instance, my go-to shows include:

  • Family Guy: I have to sleep with the TV on. I just do. I wake up frequently throughout the night and I always feel calmer and safe when the TV is on. And I’ve seen Family Guy so many times that I can put an episode on and not be interested in it and easily doze off. The feminist inside of me rolls her eyes every time I push play but she eventually falls asleep because she too needs the TV on in order to fall asleep.
  • FRIENDS: This is a recent addition to my Netflix queue, but it has taken over my life since its debut in January. I was so wrapped up in the show that I found myself releasing shifts at work because I had stayed up for 15 consecutive hours just waiting for Monica and Chandler to get together. And my god, it was worth it…

  • Grey’s Anatomy & Scandal: because I mean…come on…does this really surprise any of you? I’m addicted to anything that screams “Hey you shouldn’t sleep with that person but you’re going to do it anyways because why the hell not?” 

I’m a sucker for romance, what can I say?

  • House of Cards & Orange is the New Black: Clearly I watch these in one sitting so I’m without new episodes for an entire year, but I couldn’t leave them off of the list.

(That’s probably my favorite quote from any show I’ve ever watched. I literally spit on myself when she said that. CLAIRE SLAYS BITCHES)

I’m a girl with a short attention span. I get bored very easily and it’s hard for me to keep my focus. I’m not claiming to have ADHD like every chick with a smartphone, but I’m not denying the fact that I could benefit from popping an Addy or two in order to focus a little harder at tasks at hand. But that plays more into my dependency on controlled substances rather than my inability to pay attention to mundane tasks, so we’ll just move on…what was I talking about? Oh yeah, my attention span! (see what I did there? No? I’m sorry. I’m trash. g2g.)

Although these are my solid choices for when I know I want to watch something I’ll enjoy, sometimes I need to venture out and try something different and Netflix gives me that opportunity to broaden my horizons. And during this weeks Ice storm, I indulged.

I decided to start watching shows I had never even heard of and movies that I had been meaning to watch for far too long.

Here a few that I began to watch and felt like sharing with you all so you don’t have to wait for the next Snowpocalypse in order to start watching them:

  • The Fall: This is a Netflix original starring the hauntingly beautiful Jamie Dornan. Yes, he plays Christian Grey in Fifty Shades of Grey but in The Fall he keeps his natural Irish accent which in my personal opinion makes him far more attractive. He plays Paul Spector, a family man who lives a double life as a serial killer. If you thought that his hotness was confusing in 50 Shades because you found yourself questioning whether or not you wanted to get beat for shits and giggles, try watching this show.

I found myself envious of girls that got to see him take his shirt off right before he strangled the life out of them. But then again, my mental stability has never been particularly solid so maybe I’m not the best judge of character here. Also, Gillian Anderson plays the ultra badass cop that hunts for the killer and I was blown away by how tough and feminine she was all at the same time. It’s rare to see those two traits in a lead female role. She literally destroys everyone with one sassy remark. I ❤ her.

  • Awake: A trailer popped up for this show after I googled “what should I watch on Netflix today?” and as soon as I watched the preview, I searched for it on Netflix and finished the first season in two days. It kinda blows because it was cancelled after only one season, but honestly, the single season was enough for me. It died in its prime unlike other shows that drag on for seven seasons when in reality they should never have even gotten a second season. This show is about a cop who gets into a car wreck with his wife and son. His wife is dead and he struggles to cope, but when he falls asleep, he wakes up and it’s his son who has died. He jumps back and forth between two different realities where both potential outcomes are happening. Crazy, huh? Yeah, it’s nuts.

It’s a lot to wrap your head around but Jason Isaacs puts on a stellar performance. If you don’t know who Jason Isaacs is, then you’re probably not a fan of Harry Potter. He plays Lucius Malfoy who is a wretched character, but in Awake, his hair is short and black and he’s got a decent dad body. It’s actually quite confusing to find yourself attracted to a man you’ve hated since you were nine years old. Oh well. I learned to cope quite easily.

 

is actually

I’M COOL WITH THAT.


  • How to Survive a Plague:

This is a documentary I stumbled upon and hesitated to watch because after reading the description I knew it would make me cry, and when you’re more sensitive than a newborn baby, it’s best to avoid scenarios where you KNOW you’re going to end up crying for days. For instance, I had never seen Philadelphia, a movie where Tom Hanks has AIDS. I *knew* it was going to end badly yet I watched it and sobbed myself into a coma. Amazing movie though. Also on Netflix. ~*anyways*~ How to Survive a Plague is a documentary about the AIDS epidemic in the 1980’s and how the government was refusing to fund research to help the development of lifesaving drugs. It consisted of nearly 95% live footage from the 80’s to the late 90’s which was cool to watch because none of it was reenacted. It was a really scary depiction of how much the government and media control what information we receive and how they can literally kill people by withholding medical care . And I think I only cried once but I honestly think they were happy tears. So don’t be afraid to watch this because you think everyone is going to die of AIDS. It’s truly an amazing film and it’s very eyeopening. CHECK IT OUT. Also, it was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Documentary. So. I’m not the only one who enjoyed it.


  • Black Mirror: Okay, so I’m not going to go into much depth about this one because honestly I don’t think I’m articulate enough to even begin to try and explain this show. It’s a science fiction show which demonstrates how technology affects our basic human emotions and interactions. Each episode has a different set of actors, characters and plot line. Sort of like American Horror Story except every episode is different rather than every season. Each episode leaves you thinking way harder than you ever thought you could think. You end the episode like “Damn, this world is fucked UP.” But in a good way. I don’t know. Just watch the first episode and try to tell me that you didn’t learn something about our society after seeing it. Three of my friends are already hooked on it so just trust me on this one. You won’t regret it.

I know the snow days are coming to an end and we’ve got to get back to school and work, but don’t pretend like you didn’t pause an episode of Bob’s Burgers just so you could read my blog post. Netflix is always relevant, not just for crappy weather. I hope you watch at least one of these shows and let me know if my taste in television is just absolute horse shit. This is just what I’ve found to keep me from completely losing it to cabin fever.

Also, leave below in the comments some suggestions for me to watch because now that I’ve dabbled in some new shows, I need more suggestions.

Thanks again for reading to the bottom. I hope your toes defrost and your milk and bread that you stocked up on has kept you fulfilled.

Bye, beeshes.

MBN

Leave a Reply

